My own Cat fight with Cosmic Book News and Last Post There

nino-ban

I wanted to share something for those fans who post or have posted on CBN in the boards there. Everything is stagnant except for Rider and Quasar talk, and over these past three years or so, I have really enjoyed discussions there with many Nova fans like Sep, CapMarvel, 50year old Nova fan, Drakkeon, Timelord, etc..while I don’t like dwelling on cat fighting between fans,  I wanted to let folks hear my side of the story without censorship or moderation.

When I started this blog, it was because I had been banned from CBR’s message boards because of “excessive Richard Rider talk” and so-called attacking fans of Sam Alexander…

I wanted to have a place where folks could share their views without moderation without fear they would be censored for airing strong opinions, and my own thoughts critical or approving would be free from the deletion of over-bearing mods, like CBR’s famed gestalt of self-righteous muldoons.

At that point, 19 issues into Duggan’s Nova volume and gravely disappointed, I found solace in CBN and their boards as a refuge to complain about the current state of Nova, wage boycotts and protest the fact Richard Rider was dead and Marvel was a fool for not using him.

The so-called leader of this was Matt McGloin and his visceral hatred of anything Marvel. The guy who thinks he knows what “True” Nova fans are . He was oft-abrasive, and usually loved lecturing everyone on certain matters, but I was willing to concede to the “enemy of my enemy is my friend” notion. I was glad I did, for awhile at least, I met some great Nova fans on there and have no regrets about my time on the board.

Now for the catty stuff; let me be perfectly honest and say I now know this guy McGloin’s true colors. Despite us finding common ground at one point, McGloin is sincerely a bully and wannabe. Though he has bemoaned the antics of Marvel execs like Steven Whacker, he has no problem doing his best imitation of the man as well. His site is now nothing more than click-bate mire of sensationalism, and trust me, he has no desire for Marvel Comics to save itself or recover.

Since the announcement, the CBN boards have felt more and more like the garden of roses in Alice in Wonderland, with McGloin shouting “off with his head” at anyone not “angry” enough at NINO or the fact they may sample the new book.

My last post on the board was precipitated by the more and more irrational views of McGloin and Timelord, who seem to defy any sort of logic in their spittle induced cathartic back and forth about how bad NINO sucks and how horrid Tom Brevoort is….even still with the announcement that Marvel is bringing back Richard Rider, like we all asked for.

Within the board, there was the promise that “No NINO supporters” were free to post on the board. (He’s actually got it posted in the rules now) leading up to this, he berated and threatened a few long time posters whose comments were not “NINO hating enough”.

Something needed to be done. It was in this environment I pulled some prize quotes of delusion: “Flesh and Blood Rider or nothing” was one.

Then McGloin, madly declared he was currently working on a CBN drive that would declare a new boycott of the new series. “Rider like DnA did him or nothing at all!” he declared, basically implying anyone that was not with him was against him. This is where I drew the line.

Let me share the post that got me “banned” and has put me at odds with McGloin. It’s long, as I wanted to be perfectly clear. I also specifically  stated in the write up that it was my last post on the board, so McGloin banned someone who had decided to leave and deleted the post, the trite actions of a petty child pouting as he takes his toys back to his mommy:

I’m hearing Champions #1 was a huge failure.

I didn’t love the Han Solo comparison either, but I don’t have a big problem with it. He’s a brash and competent and a risk taker pilot type. Though Rich was more responsible, it’s not like an insane idea or anything.

Marvel always seems to want to compare stuff to Star Wars or the characters therein. I think it’s an indicator of some things….mostly negative. I think from reading these interviews you get a clearer picture why Rich was actually back-burnered. …”too similar in some eyes to other characters.”  Or “redundant”. Especially with Star-Lord and the actual Han Solo out there. Maybe this is why marvel cosmic has been put down….to avoid competing with their own Star Wars material. Seems lame.

Please read the much more substantial Marvel interview as well.

SO here’s where this post turns, and I point out I couldn’t see this situation any differently than you two. Reading these two interviews, the vast majority of what I hear within tells me these guys “get it” and understand Rich Rider and Nova. It’s a breath of fresh air, really, and, to me it paints a totally different picture than the crazed talk you guys are pushing.

Some of the listed focuses of this series seem to be some of the fundamental angles I wished DnA could have explored more. I find Loveness and Perez hook intriguing and something well-thought out. I’m almost reading stuff from these creators that is “too good to be true”, and from both you and TL I’m reading stuff that is hard to believe as well.

These guys seem to be huge fans. Loveness seems like a rare Marvel guy who was brought up on the books. Read what he says about Scott Summers? That’s awesome, because I love cyclops too. I love the Summers clan and I would love to see something like the Starjammers.

The book seems much more planned than any we’ve seen. I think by reading both these guys thoughts, I have the opinion they have done an in-depth character study of Rich and plan to really produce something well thought out. Sounds like they’ve read the material or plan to read it all.

The Marvel interview mentions extensive content in space, Thanos and even Dr. Sun name dropped. Old villains and old characters are a huge part of this series. I don’t get how Rich is a sidekick when he is clearly shown bailing a dying NINO out from cancerverse stuff in the art. Frankly, in contrast to you and TLs (IMO) wild thoughts and fears, this series seems way more about Rich than NINO. As I read it, Sam seems like mostly an afterthought.

Honestly, you guys sound like you have gone off the deep end and are broken records. Nearly all your thoughts seem unjustified or fantastic. I’m not in agreement with your stance.

Maybe you just were not prepared for life with Rich Rider back.

I can understand Stinger’s angst because he loves Quasar and that character is still down. I think Stinger you are bit off on the reality of what works and what does not in terms of these character issues, boycotts and fan-angst.

You guys did decent with Quasar….but it didn’t stick and it’s certainly not as rosy a performance as you make out. I really don’t appreciate the constant lectures on fandom, trolling, zombies and what real fans should be like.  At this point, it’s mostly tired. To call me a zombie really dug deep. I’ve gone on FB and defended CBN to no end, and here as well. No more.

Nor do I dig the threat of censorship for simply liking a character. ”Ban NINO fans”, whatever….none come anyway here. I don’t like NINO, but I’m happy to hear others who disagree with me and their opinion. It’s called discussion and dialogue. That’s why I founded a blog on RR so folks could just say what they want without being over moderated.

I respect that this is your turf and board, but I don’t dig that environment. So this will be my last post here.

Perhaps this is happening on the NMB as well….but two wrongs don’t make a right. I will say to call a spade a spade I feel like that board also is making a mistake as well and the over-moderation is not needed.

Again, Stinger let me say, I respect what you and CBN have done during this struggle to get Rich back on the cards. I also appreciate having a place to vent my frustration, though at times you seemed to come on just to lecture us with a line like “You zombies need to wise up and get that Marvel is horrible, Stop Buying NINO,” You did this when it was even like us 3 talking back and forth and it was pretty clear few of us were buying the comic and no NINO fans were posting.

Series seems exactly what we need; a bridge that joins the new with the old. There was never any need for me to just rehash DnA material.

“Bring back Rich Rider….but only like he was with DnA!” sounds ridiculous and petty dude.

Even DnA were planning on killing off Rich for a couple years!

I’m not going to debate Marvel Cosmic is down, but at least this seems like step in the right direction. Marvel was down when Annihilation came out as well….Civil War sucked, New Warriors were a joke and Starlin had just been cast off from Marvel.

(Insert Stinger’s post that announces he is working on a new boycott of Nova)

If CBN does this then know that you do not have my support. Good Luck to you, but I plan to reasonably sample the work before I come to such conclusion or extremes.

This book has a lower tier creative team. It’s not been set up in any big event, and is just kinda being thrown out to the wolves to sell or flop. The only hook is “Richard Rider returns”….and if it doesn’t sell better than thought, if people don’t show up for that tag….then it sends a message about Rider to Marvel that they were right….and maybe Rich does belong in the gutter.

I want to prove them wrong. I want a “reborn Rich” book to work…..and any boycotts, not only do I disagree with them now, but I find them counter-productive to the existence of Rich and his future.

In this regard, you and CBN undo any of the good you did before.

Whatever you guys do, I wish you well Stinger. I will continue to support Quasar and hope he comes back. I thank you for what you’ve built here and wish you well.

The last portion I put in bold because It is the most important part.

If CBN and McGloin are taking the stance that there should be a preemptive boycott of Rider’s return book (mind you, without an issue in our hands yet) after six years of Rider dead and in the gutter, well then they are hurting the character more than they are helping him. To me, that is being a fraud …and unacceptable. Really, this has nothing to do with Sam Alexander.

Again, apologies for those who could give two craps about this kind of stuff, but I just wanted to get my side of the story and why I did what I did. I admit, its drama beyond us all.

I’m not telling folks to abandon the boards or not frequent CBN, but just sharing my side of the story and what the place’s (IMO) true colors are. I’ve always maintained the company has done some good, and it would be a shame to undo it with some sort of breakdown.

I consider the matter closed….and hope to link up with the great posters (aside from McGloin) who posted on the CBN boards in other places.

EDIT:Just want to thank the folks who are giving me support. It really means a lot. Look forward to the coming days of actual Nova/ Richard Rider talk. I saw McGloin’s post where he once more ripped Nova fans and bragged about how awesome he was.

2 thoughts on “My own Cat fight with Cosmic Book News and Last Post There

  1. I stopped reading Timelord articles when i realized they are just pure negativity with him bitching about the same things over and over again.

    1. Yeah the situation is rough. Timelord and I have always gotten along. To tell you the truth, I think they are tongue and cheek mostly and I usually find them funny and entertaining….even in his worst stuff he makes some good points. I don’t get what is going on now though.

Leave a Reply

